Why I got into this…

I single handedly began this humble school in the year 2007 using my savings after college. I had acquired some education, and could figure out how to proceed there after with a career. My dad had figured that I needed good education and did what he could to make that dream happen.
Back to my rural community, I see kids struggling to get some education. Many can barely raise money to buy a text book leave alone fix their shoe. Most parents are peasant farmers who struggle to make ends meet. But they are determined to educate their children… their future!
What strikes, is that these kids, with no electricity, hardly any books, walking home every day have to compete with other kids who are driven home from school, have access to a well filled library and access computers at home. They do the same examination and compete for the same position and school in high school.
4 years down the line, the school has over 250 kids, its self sustaining and growing.
My next concern is… with my technology skills, how can I bring the wealth of information and knowledge to these kids at their class room. Can a low cost computer or mobile phone make the difference?
They have no electricity… can solar on wind power work?
I am exploring these… and strongly believe that I will have an answer soon.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

